Project

SESAM

Project

Mar 2013 - Feb 2016
To identify proteins in biological samples mass spectrometry (MS) is most often applied: proteins are digested to peptides which are subsequently analyzed. Within the last decade, a new generation of mass spectrometers has been developed that are capable of acquiring mass spectra with high resolution and high mass accuracy. This has significantly changed the characteristics of mass spectra; however, this development has not been accompanied by a corresponding progress in peptide identification algorithms capable of fully exploiting the available information.
We therefore propose to develop a set of novel identification algorithms that are specifically designed for the analysis of modern mass spectra and incorporate multiple sources of information in the here proposed bioinformatics research project.
Preliminary research results are promising: The project consortium consisting of the Proteomics Group at IMP Vienna and the Bioinformatics Research Group at FH OÖ (Campus Hagenberg) has already conducted successful joint research in the analysis of MS data: Identification rates comparable or even superior to Mascot, the current gold-standard, have been achieved using a first version of a scoring function designed by the proposing consortium.
Encouraged by these preliminary research results, we are convinced that considering additional sources of information will further improve identification rates of mass spectra – therefore this project is dedicated to research on a combination of the following novel approaches: We plan to use machine learning techniques to analyze peptide elution times, fragmentation patterns and mass accuracy characteristics specific to the instrument; in addition, observed m/z values will be recalibrated based on the mass error of highly reliable identifications, and the remaining mass error with regard to the learned distribution will be incorporated into the scoring function. Sophisticated peak picking strategies will also be designed using machine learning. These improvements will help increase identification rates in challenging situations such as hybrid spectra and exhaustive searches for a wide range of post-translational modifications. The latter approach leads to exponentially growing search spaces and an accompanying drop in spectra identification rates because the information in MS spectra on its own is not sufficient to cope with the increased search space. Instead of applying brute force methods we plan to solve this problem using construction heuristics, i.e., evolutionary algorithms that realize intelligent search strategies for large numbers of unknown post-translational modifications based on a combination of database search and de novo identification.
All research results achieved in this project will be published and made freely available to the bioinformatics and proteomics communities. Improving identification rates of peptides in general and of unknown modifications in particular will permit a deeper insight into the proteome; computer science shall thus form a new basis for finding answers to important medical and biological questions.

Research program

FWF Translational Research


Das Projekt wird im Translational Research Programm durch den FWF Wissenschaftsfonds gefördert.

2015
V. Dorfer, S. Maltsev, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - Chimeric MS/MS Spectra Identification using MS Amanda - Proceedings of 63rd ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics (ASMS 2015), St. Louis, United States of America, 2015 more
2015
V. Dorfer, S. Maltsev, S. Dreiseitl, K. Mechtler, S. M. Winkler - A Symbolic Regression Based Scoring System Improving Peptide Identifications for MS Amanda - Proceedings of the 11th GECCO Workshop on Medical Applications of Genetic and Evolutionary Computation MedGEC, Madrid, Spain, 2015 more
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda Stand-Alone for Integration in Proteomics Workflows - Proceedings of 62rd ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics (ASMS 2014), Baltimore, United States of America, 2014 more
2014
V. Dorfer, G. Dürnberger, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - Searching Chimeric MS/MS Spectra with MS Amanda - Proceedings of the 12th Austrian Proteomic Research Symposium (APRS 2014), Salzburg, Austria, 2014 more
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, J. Stadlmann, T. Taus, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda, a Universal Identification Algorithm Optimized for High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectra - Journal of Proteome Research, Vol. 13, No. 8, 2014, pp. 3679-3684 more
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, G. Dürnberger, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - A Standalone Version of MS Amanda for Integration into Proteomics Workflows - Proceedings of the 13th Human Proteome Organization World Congress (HUPO 2014), Madrid, Spain, 2014 more
2013
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda: A Novel Algorithm for the Identification of High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectrometry Data - 61st ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics, Minneapolis, United States of America, 2013 more
2013
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda: A Novel Algorithm for the Identification of High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectrometry Data - Proceedings of 11th Austrian Proteomic Research Symposium (APRS 2013), Innsbruck, Austria, 2013 more

Projekt

SESAM

Projekt

März 2013 - Feb. 2016

Zur Identifikation von Proteinen in biologischen Proben kommt üblicherweise Massenspektrometrie (MS) zum Einsatz: Proteine werden verdaut, die daraus resultierenden Peptide (Fragmente von Proteinen) werden anschließend analysiert. Innerhalb der letzten Jahrzehnte wurde eine neue Generation von Massenspektrometern entwickelt, die imstande sind, Massenspektren mit hoher Auflösung und hoher Massengenauigkeit aufzunehmen. Dies hat die Charakteristiken der Massenspektren erheblich verändert, jedoch ging dieser Fortschritt nicht einher mit der Entwicklung neuer Identifikationsalgorithmen für Peptide, die in der Lage sind, verfügbare Informationen vollständig auszuschöpfen.

Aus diesem Grund sollen in dem hier beantragten, interdisziplinären Bioinformatik-Forschungsprojekt eine Reihe von neuen Identifikationsalgorithmen, die speziell für die Analyse solcher Massenspektren konzipiert sind und verschiedenste Informationsquellen miteinbeziehen, erforscht und entwickelt werden.

Die ersten wissenschaftlichen Resultate sind vielversprechend: Das Projektkonsortium bestehend aus der Proteomik-Gruppe des IMP Wien und der Bioinformatik-Forschungsgruppe der FH OÖ (Campus Hagenberg) hat bereits erfolgreich ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt über die Analyse von Massenspektren durchgeführt; mit Hilfe einer neuartigen Scoring-Funktion, welche in diesem Projekt entwickelt wurde, konnten Identifikationsraten erreicht werden, die vergleichbar bzw. sogar höher sind als jene von Mascot, dem derzeitigen Standard-Verfahren in der Identifikation von Massenspektren.

Bestärkt durch diese ersten Ergebnisse sind wir überzeugt, dass die Berücksichtigung von zusätzlichen Informationsquellen zu einer weiteren Verbesserung der Identifikationsraten von Massenspektren führen wird – deshalb widmet sich dieses Projekt der Erforschung folgender neuer Ansätze und deren Kombination: Wir planen Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz zu entwickeln, um Elutionszeiten von Peptiden, Fragmentierungsmuster und instrumentenspezifische Charakteristiken der Massengenauigkeit zu identifizieren und zu analysieren; zusätzlich werden die beobachteten m/z Werte mit Hilfe des Massenfehlers von verifizierten Identifikationen re-kalibriert und der verbleibende Massenfehler in Bezug auf die erlernte Verteilung in die Scoring-Funktion eingebunden. Maschinelles Lernen soll weiters eingesetzt werden, um Peak-Auswahlverfahren zu entwickeln. Mit Hilfe dieser Verbesserungen soll die Identifikationsrate speziell in schwierigen Situationen wie hybriden Spektren und exhaustiven Suchen nach einer großen Menge an post-translationalen Modifikationen erhöht werden. Tatsächlich führt gerade dieser Ansatz zu exponentiell wachsenden Suchräumen und einem damit einhergehenden Einbruch der Identifikationsrate, da die Informationen in Massenpektren allein nicht ausreichend sind um den erweiterten Suchraum zu bewältigen. Im Gegensatz zu den zumeist angewandten Brute-Force Strategien soll dieses Problem in diesem Projekt mit Hilfe von Konstruktionsheuristiken gelöst werden, nämlich mit evolutionären Algorithmen, die intelligente Suchstrategien für eine große Anzahl an post-translationalen Modifikationen durch eine Kombination aus Datenbanksuche und de-novo Identifizierung realisieren.

Alle in diesem Projekt erzielten Forschungsresultate sollen im Detail publiziert und der Bioinformatik- und Proteomik-Community frei zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Verbesserte Identifikationsraten von Peptiden im Allgemeinen und von unbekannten Modifikationen im Speziellen werden eine größere Einsicht in das Proteom ermöglichen; die Informatik bildet in diesem Zusammenhang eine neue Basis für die Suche nach Antworten zu wichtigen biologischen und medizinischen Fragestellungen.


Forschungsprogramm

FWF Translational Research


Das Projekt wird im Translational Research Programm durch den FWF Wissenschaftsfonds gefördert.

2015
V. Dorfer, S. Maltsev, S. Dreiseitl, K. Mechtler, S. M. Winkler - A Symbolic Regression Based Scoring System Improving Peptide Identifications for MS Amanda - Proceedings of the 11th GECCO Workshop on Medical Applications of Genetic and Evolutionary Computation MedGEC, Madrid, Spanien, 2015 mehr
2015
V. Dorfer, S. Maltsev, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - Chimeric MS/MS Spectra Identification using MS Amanda - Proceedings of 63rd ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics (ASMS 2015), St. Louis, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika, 2015 mehr
2014
V. Dorfer, G. Dürnberger, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - Searching Chimeric MS/MS Spectra with MS Amanda - Proceedings of the 12th Austrian Proteomic Research Symposium (APRS 2014), Salzburg, Österreich, 2014 mehr
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, J. Stadlmann, T. Taus, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda, a Universal Identification Algorithm Optimized for High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectra - Journal of Proteome Research, Vol. 13, No. 8, 2014, pp. 3679-3684 mehr
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, G. Dürnberger, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - A Standalone Version of MS Amanda for Integration into Proteomics Workflows - Proceedings of the 13th Human Proteome Organization World Congress (HUPO 2014), Madrid, Spanien, 2014 mehr
2014
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, T. Stranzl, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda Stand-Alone for Integration in Proteomics Workflows - Proceedings of 62rd ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics (ASMS 2014), Baltimore, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika, 2014 mehr
2013
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda: A Novel Algorithm for the Identification of High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectrometry Data - Proceedings of 11th Austrian Proteomic Research Symposium (APRS 2013), Innsbruck, Österreich, 2013 mehr
2013
V. Dorfer, P. Pichler, S. M. Winkler, K. Mechtler - MS Amanda: A Novel Algorithm for the Identification of High Accuracy Tandem Mass Spectrometry Data - Proceedings of 61st ASMS Conference on Mass Spectrometry and Allied Topics, Minneapolis, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika, 2013 mehr