Research field

Medical Engineering

The Department of Medical Engineering (Medical Engineering) is a national and international R & D partner for the development and manufacture of medical devices. We cooperate with manufacturers and suppliers. New technologies for medical applications are also being researched and evaluated for health care facilities. The work is carried out according to the European state of the art (harmonized standards), fulfilling the essential requirements of medical devices according to MDD, AAIMDD and IVDD.

The following research areas and special laboratories are operated:

• ReSSL - Hybrid simulators for surgery
Real-time simulators for the training and training of doctors

The new research and development of hybrid surgical simulators is the aim of the new research group ReSSL (Research Group for Surgical Simulators Linz). Hybrid simulators represent a combination of model- and computer-based simulation systems and combine their advantages. Using a computer model, users can visualize morphological structures and physiological processes in detail. Physical anatomical patient models provide a realistic haptic for the trained surgeon, thus the advantages of the desired development. Navigation systems allow real-time detection of the position of instruments, implants and anatomical structures. Together with the 3D data of anatomical patient models and instruments, imaging is also possible without X-ray radiation using suitable algorithms. The objective is to evaluate and analyze the surgical procedure. In addition to measuring the mechanical stresses of critical anatomical structures - such as nerves - it is also possible to simulate bleeding.

• MotionLab Motion analysis
Investigate movement patterns and patterns for rehabilitation, health care and aging society

Movements are - properly executed - essential to stay healthy. Too little movement leads directly to weight problems, and an incorrect sitting position in the office usually ends with chronic back problems.
In our "Movement and Prosthetics Laboratory" we use state-of-the-art technical methods for quantitative movement detection. Not only expensive, high-precision sensors are used, but also technologies from the entertainment industry, such as the Nintendo Wii or the Microsoft Kinect. For the evaluation of the data we work closely with practicing therapists, physicians and with clinical researchers to optimize the clinical diagnosis as well as the therapy for movement disorders.

 • Prosthetics
Intelligent prostheses and neuro-coupling

The research area deals with the development of arm and leg prostheses, which give people with amputations as much mobility and independence as possible. The technical orientation of the research is divided into the areas of sensor technology (sensation with prostheses), motorics (control of the prostheses) and prosthesis attachment (securing the prostheses to the body). In order to restore motor functions, separated nerves are coupled to the prostheses and the interaction between the prosthesis and the human being is investigated using artificial neural networks. In order to improve the wearing comfort of the prostheses, attachment variants on the amputation stump are examined and the causes of the frequently stressful (weather-dependent) phantom and neuroma pain are imitated. The research is carried out with the intensive involvement of people with amputations with the aim of continuously evaluating research results on their practical usability and utilizing them in cooperation with the industry.

 • 3D / microscopy laboratory
High-resolution microscopy as a supplement to imaging methods in medicine
Research concentrates on methodological aspects
• Biomechanics,
• Biosignal analysis and processing,
• Biomedical microscopy (3D fluorescence, AFM, et al.),
• Miniaturized electronics, measurement technology and sensor technology,
• Modeling and simulation,
• Further development of standards for the production of medical software and medical IT systems.

Publications:

Projects:

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Medizintechnik

Das Department für Medizintechnik (Medical Engineering) ist national und international F&E-Partner für die Medizinprodukte-Entwicklung und -Herstellung. Wir kooperieren dazu mit Herstellern und Zulieferern. Ebenso werden für Gesundheitseinrichtungen neue Technologien für medizinische Anwendungen erforscht und evaluiert. Die Arbeiten werden nach dem europäischen Stand der Technik (harmonisierte Normen) unter Erfüllung bzw. Berücksichtigung der grundlegenden Anforderungen an Medizinprodukte gemäß MDD, AAIMDD und IVDD durchgeführt.

Folgende Forschungsschwerpunkte und Spezial-Labors werden dabei betrieben:

Die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung von hybriden chirurgischen Simulatoren ist das Ziel der neuen Forschungsgruppe ReSSL (Research Group for Surgical Simulators Linz). Hybride Simulatoren stellen eine Kombination aus modell- und computerbasierten Simulationssystemen dar und verknüpfen deren Vorteile. Anhand eines Computermodells können Anwender morphologische Strukturen und physiologische Prozesse detailliert visualisieren. Physikalische Patientenphantome bewirken eine realitätsnahe Haptik für den trainierenden Chirurgen, so die Vorzüge der angestrebten Entwicklung. Navigationssysteme erlauben die Echtzeiterfassung der Position von Instrumenten, Implantaten und anatomischen Strukturen. Gemeinsam mit den 3D-Daten von Patientenphantom und Instrumenten ist unter Verwendung geeigneter Algorithmen eine Bildgebung auch ohne Röntgenstrahlung möglich. Erfasst werden objektive Größen zur Bewertung und Analyse des chirurgischen Eingriffs. Zusätzlich zur Messung der mechanischen Belastungen kritischer anatomischer Strukturen – wie etwa Nerven – ist es auch möglich, Blutungen zu simulieren.  

  • MotionLab - Bewegungsanalyse 
    Untersuchen von Bewegungsverhalten und –mustern für die Rehabilitation, Gesundheitsprävention und alternde Gesellschaft

Bewegungen sind - richtig ausgeführt - unerlässlich, um gesund zu bleiben. Zu wenig Bewegung führt direkt zu Gewichtsproblemen, und eine falsche Sitzposition im Büro endet meistens mit chronischen Rückenbeschwerden.
In unserem "Bewegungs- und Prothetik Labor" verwenden wir modernste technische Methoden zur quantitativen Bewegungserfassung. Dabei kommen nicht nur kostspielige, hochpräzise Sensoren zum Einsatz, sondern auch Technologien aus der Unterhaltungsindustrie, wie die Nintendo Wii oder die Microsoft Kinect. Für die Auswertung der Daten arbeiten wir eng mit praktizierenden Therapeuten, Ärzten und mit klinischen Forschern zusammen, um anhand dieser Daten sowohl die klinische Diagnose und als auch die Therapie bei Bewegungsstörungen zu optimieren.

  • Prothetik 
    Intelligente Prothesen und Neuro-Ankopplung

Das Forschungsthema befasst sich mit der Entwicklung von Arm- und Beinprothesen, die Menschen mit Amputationen möglichst viel Mobilität und Unabhängigkeit zurückgeben. Die technische Ausrichtung der Forschung gliedert sich in die Bereiche Sensorik(Empfindung mit Prothesen), Motorik(Steuerung der Prothesen) und Prothesenanbindung (Fixierung der Prothesen am Körper).  Zur Widerherstellung der Sensormotorik werden abgetrennte Nerven an die Prothesen angekoppelt und die Interaktion zwischen Prothese und Mensch unter Einbeziehung künstlicher neuronaler Netzte untersucht. Zur Verbesserung des Tragekomforts der Prothesen werden Anbindungsvarianten am Amputationsstumpf untersucht und den Ursachen des vielfach belastenden (wetterabhängigen) Phantom- und Neuromschmerzes nachgehangen. Die Forschung erfolgt unter intensiver Einbeziehung von Menschen mit Amputationen mit dem Ziel, Forschungsergebnisse laufend auf ihre praktische Verwendbarkeit zu bewerten und sie in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie zu verwerten.

  • 3D/Mikroskopie-Labor
    Hochauflösende Mikroskopie als Ergänzung zu bildgebenden Verfahren in der Medizin
Die Forschung konzentriert sich methodisch auf die Schwerpunkte
  • Biomechanik,
  • Biosignalanalyse und -verarbeitung,
  • Biomedizinische Mikroskopie (3D-Fluoreszenz, AFM, u.a.),
  • Miniaturisierte Elektronik, Messtechnik und Sensorik,
  • Modellbildung und Simulation,
  • Weiterentwicklung von Normen zur Herstellung von medizinischer Software und medizinischen IT-Systemen.


 

Publikationen:

Projekte: