Research field

Media and Knowledge Technologies

Our researchers in this field work intensively on the development of natural interactive environments for human beings and computers, communication and perception processes, augmented and mixed reality, visualization possibilities and the design of new media interfaces. Additionally, new learning and working environments as well as new didactic methods for tertiary education and organizational learning are realized.

 

Media Interaction Lab

The Media Interaction Lab is a research group for human-machine interfaces, applied computer graphics, and new interaction techniques (with interactive tables or walls). The laboratory is part of the Department of Digital Media, combining technical expertise with design expertise, starting from a basic understanding of the users and their problems. So, there are projects such as the meeting room of the future, the police operations center, the Active Office or a pressure sensitive film can be realized.

 

Knowledge Media & Engineering

The focus of this research group includes the design of learning and working environments for cooperative knowledge generation and communication, their implementation (in the form of social networks and collaborative and adaptive systems), and their introduction in the field of organizational learning. In addition, knowledge-based systems can be realized by Semantic Web technologies. Current projects deal with the support of thinking processes in design and development, as well as evaluation of educational models and (semantic) technologies to support the generation of knowledge in the design and development of frameworks for the systematic extraction, analysis, visualization and exploration of networked knowledge in an enterprise as a basis for knowledge management.


Playful Interactive Environments

Integrating research of interactive and time-based media at the interface between games and animation. Linking the competencies in the Department for Digital Media (MTD, DA, and IM). Identification and investigation of innovative fields of application and utilization of these disciplines in various fields such as economy, society, health, art and advertising.

Publications:

Projects:

Patents:

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Medien und Wissenstechnologien

Computer und Informationstechnologie ergänzen die menschlichen Möglichkeiten in vielen Anwendungsbereichen. Die Entwicklung und Gestaltung von kooperativen Umgebungen, zugehörigen Infrastrukturen und innovativen Anwendungen, die eine unkomplizierte und den natürlichen Bedürfnissen angepasste Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Computer ermöglichen, gehören zu den wesentlichen Zielen dieses Forschungsschwerpunktes.


Media Interaction Lab

Das Media Interaction Lab ist eine Forschungsgruppe für Mensch-Maschine Schnittstellen, angewandte Computergrafik, und neue Interaktionstechniken (mit interaktiven Tischen/Wänden). Das Labor ist Teil des Departments für Digitale Medien und kombiniert technisches Know-how mit gestalterischer Expertise, ausgehend von einem grundlegenden Verständnis der jeweiligen Benutzer und deren Probleme. So werden derzeit Projekte wie der Besprechungsraum der Zukunft, die Polizei-Einsatzzentrale , das Active Office oder eine drucksensitive Folie realisiert.

Knowledge Media & Engineering

Die Schwerpunkte dieser Forschungsgruppe umfassen die Konzeption von Lern- und Arbeitsumgebungen zur kooperativen Wissensgenerierung und -kommunikation sowie deren Umsetzung (in Form sozialer Netzwerke bzw. kooperativer und adaptiver Systeme) und deren Einführung im Bereich des organisationalen Lernens. Darüber hinaus werden wissensbasierte Systeme mittels Semantic Web Technologien realisiert. Aktuelle Projekte beschäftigen sich mit der Unterstützung von Denkprozessen im Design und Entwicklung und Evaluation von pädagogischen Modellen und (Semantischen) Technologien zur Unterstützung der Wissensgenerierung im Design und der Entwicklung von Frameworks zur systematischen Extraktion, Analyse, Darstellung und Exploration vernetzten Wissens im Unternehmen als Grundlage für das Wissensmanagement.


Playful Interactive Environments

Bündelung der Forschung von interaktiven und zeitbasierten Medien an der Schnittstelle zwischen Games und Animation. Verknüpfung der Kompetenzen im Department für Digitale Medien (MTD, DA und IM). Identifikation und Untersuchung innovativer Anwendungsgebiete und Nutzung der Disziplinen in diversen Bereichen wie beispielsweise Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, Gesundheit, Kunst und Werbung.

Publikationen:

Projekte:

Patente: