Research field

Energy and the Environment

This R & D focus encompasses the combination of eco-energy and environmental technology topics in the research fields solar energy / hydrogen, building optimization / solar mobility as well as waste gas, waste air and wastewater treatment. All projects focus on the ethical handling of the world’s resources.
 
The projects range from basic research to the optimization of operations in application laboratories right through to company foundations. All stages of a production chain are covered e.g. from the optimization of the raw materials / biomass, fermentation conditions to the control of the end products. High-temperature (SOFC) fuel cells and the area of energy-efficient construction and building ecology are further research areas.

It is possible to rely on an excellent set of instruments with hydrogen, fuel cells, a thermal and photovoltaic laboratory, construction physics and climatic engineering laboratory, bio- and chemical laboratories, photocatalysis, biogas, sewage and environmental engineering and process engineering laboratory with complete analytics and equipment. The latest simulation tools and analytics can be used for R&D tasks  (impedance, FTIR, UV / vis, GC, GC MS, ICP HPLC, IC, infrared camera, blower door equipment, hotbox, etc.) on a pilot plants scale in waste air purification, dedusting as well as exhaust air purification for R & D tasks.

In addition to outdoor measuring stands, various solar simulators (up to 1.5 x 2.5 m2) are available for photovoltaic and solar thermal developments. A 17 kWp photovoltaic system with all currently available types of solar cells, solar recharging station and interlinking with electrolysis and fuel cell is also used in R & D projects.

Publications:

Projects:

Patents:

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Energie und Umwelt

Dieser F&E-Schwerpunkt umfasst die Kombination von Ökoenergie- und Umwelttechnikthemen in den Forschungsfeldern Solarenergie / Wasserstoff, Gebäudeoptimierung / Solare Mobilität sowie Abgas-, Abluft- und Abwasserreinigung. Bei allen Projekten steht der ethisch einwandfreie Umgang mit den Ressourcen der Welt im Vordergrund.


Die Projekte gehen von der Grundlagenforschung, über die Optimierung des Betriebes in Anwendungslabors, bis hin zu Firmengründungen. Dabei werden alle Stufen einer Produktionskette (z.B. von der Optimierung der Rohstoffe/Biomasse, der Fermentationsbedingungen bis hin zur Kontrolle der Endprodukte) abgedeckt. Hochtemperatur- (SOFC-) Brennstoffzellen und der Bereich energieeffizientes Bauen und Bauökologie sind weitere Forschungsbereiche.


Es kann auf ein hervorragendes Instrumentarium mit Wasserstoff-, Brennstoffzellen-, Wärmetechnik- und Photovoltaiklabor, Bauphysik- und Klimatechniklabor, Bio- und Chemielabors, Photokatalyse- Biogas- Abwasser- Umwelttechnik-, Verfahrenstechniklabor mit kompletter Analytik und Ausrüstung zurückgegriffen werden. Modernste Simulationstools und Analytik (Impedanz-, FTIR; UV/vis, GC, GC MS, ICP HPLC, IC, Infrarotkamera, Blower-Door-Ausrüstung, Hotbox, etc.) und Pilotanlagen im Technikumsmaßstab zur Abluftwäsche, Entstaubung sowie zur biologischen Abluftreinigung können für F&E Aufgaben eingesetzt werden.


Neben Outdoormessständen stehen für photovoltaische und solarthermische Entwicklungen verschiedene Solarsimulatoren (bis 1,5 x 2,5 m2) zur Verfügung. Auch eine 17 kWp-Photovoltaikanlage mit allen zurzeit angebotenen Solarzellentypen, Solartankstelle und Kopplung mit Elektrolyse und Brennstoffzelle wird in F&E-Projekten eingesetzt.

Publikationen:

Projekte:

Patente: