Project

MOBILE.OLD - Residential & Outdoor Services Advancing the Mobility of Older Persons

Project

Jun 2012 - May 2014

This research project aims to provide a combined smartphone and TV-based service infrastructure with residential and outdoor services that will be delivered in a highly personalised and intuitive way and will advance the mobility of elderly people. The services will be provided in a cost-effective way aiming at independent living and sustained mobility, maintaining the health status, providing cognitive benefits, and thus preventing isolation, depression and loneliness.

Within the project MOBILE.OLD, an open platform and services advancing the mobility of elderly people will be developed. The focus will be on the development of the following four main categories of services:

  • Informational services for assisting mobility, i.e. services that filter out, either "passively" or "actively", existing information related to mobility.
  • Travel and transport services, i.e. services enhancing trans-national mobility.
  • Services for cognitive impaired people, i.e. services assisting the mobility of older persons suffering from cognitive impairments.
  • Physical and mobility training services, i.e. services maintaining good health status as well as cognitive games assisting in overcoming situations that elderly people may encounter when being mobile.

The University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria will contribute to the fourth category of services by developing a set of mobile applications. These applications will allow elderly people to prepare for certain mobility situations in advance on the one hand, and they will provide situation-dependent assistance when the elderly person is mobile on the other hand.


Research program

FFG benefit


Das Projekt wird im Förderprogramm "Benefit" durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie unterstützt.

Projekt

MOBILE.OLD - Residential & Outdoor Services Advancing the Mobility of Older Persons

Beschreibung:

Das Ziel dieses Forschungsprojekts besteht darin, die Mobilität von Menschen im Alter zu erhöhen. Dies soll durch eine kombinierte Smartphone- und TV-basierte Service-Infrastruktur mit stark personalisierten und intuitiv zu verwendenden Wohn- und Outdoor-Services erreicht werden. Die Dienste werden kostengünstig zur Verfügung gestellt, um Menschen im Alter eine selbstständige Lebensführung und nachhaltige Mobilität zu ermöglichen. Dadurch sollen der Gesundheitszustand aufrechterhalten, Verbesserungen in Bezug auf die kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit erreicht, und in weiterer Folge Isolation, Depressionen und Einsamkeit vermieden werden.

Im Projekt MOBILE.OLD werden eine offene Plattform und Dienstleistungen zur Verbesserung der Mobilität älterer Menschen entwickelt. Der Schwerpunkt wird auf der Entwicklung der folgenden vier Hauptkategorien von Diensten liegen:

  • Informative Dienste für die Unterstützung von Mobilität, also Dienste, die entweder "passiv" oder "aktiv" vorhandene Informationen in Bezug auf Mobilität herausfiltern.
  • Reise- und Transportdienste, d.h. Dienste zur Verbesserung der transnationalen Mobilität.
  • Dienste für kognitiv beeinträchtigte Menschen, d.h. Dienste zur Unterstützung der Mobilität von älteren Menschen mit kognitiven Einschränkungen.
  • Dienste für körperliches und geistiges Training, also Dienste um einen guten Gesundheitszustand zu bewahren und Menschen im Alter auf Situationen der Mobilität vorzubereiten.

Die Fachhochschule Oberösterreich wird durch die Entwicklung einer Reihe mobiler Anwendungen zur vierten Kategorie von Diensten beitragen. Diese Anwendungen werden es älteren Personen einerseits ermöglichen, sich im Voraus auf bestimmte Situationen der Mobilität vorzubereiten, und sie werden andererseits situationsabhängige Unterstützung bereitstellen wenn diese Personen unterwegs sind.