Project

Metabolomik und Biodiversität von Schnee- und Eisalgen

Project

Apr 2017 - Sep 2020
Metabolomics and Biodiversity of Snow and Ice Phototrophs

Microalgae growing in snowfields and at glacier surfaces are poly-extremophilic organisms, living in one of the harshest ecosystems existing for eukaryotes. They are adapted to excessive irradiation, low temperature, nutrients or water availability. From late spring onwards, alpine and polar blooms cause striking snow colourations depending on the prevailing pigments, “red snow” being the most common phenomenon. Cryoflora reduces surface albedo and increases melting of its environment which on the other hand enhances rising of the sea level. Moreover, global climate change threatens populations in lower mountain ranges due to lack of snowfall. These organisms are pursued not only for understanding principal cellular survival strategies under harsh conditions, but also for highly abundant, commercially valuable plant metabolites. Algal compounds like polyunsaturated fatty acids, secondary pigments, polyphenolics, antioxidants or polyols play significant roles for cell survival. Still, the biochemical strategies of these extremophiles are poorly understood. Moreover, information about geographic distribution is limited, and the true biodiversity of cryoflora remains cryptic.

The proposed project comprises two main tasks. First, we want to evaluate geographical differences in the biodiversity of Alpine and Arctic snow communities by conducting high-throughput sequencing of total environmental samples, combining multiple genes. This efficient tool to qualitatively and quantitatively ascertain the native snow community structure will be applied for the first time for an alpine-polar comparison. The molecular findings will be correlated with physico-chemical snow parameters. Second, we want to understand how the metabolome of snow and ice algae changes related to stress response.  The metabolome in alpine snow populations will be analysed before and after cells have transformed from protected subsurface green flagellates into exposed red spores in the course of the season and their life cycle. Additionally, we want to reveal the strategies of glacial algae uniquely living at bare alpine and polar ice surfaces. These derived green algae, phylogenetically closer to land plants, remain as actively dividing and vegetative cells throughout the season, not relying on protective spores like most of the snow algae.

All measurements will be conducted with both field material and cultured strains under controlled conditions. A GC-MS-based metabolomics approach will be used to elucidate compound-thriven survival strategies. This includes screening and characterizing of promising ‘anti-stress’-like osmolytes, protective pigments and antioxidants. Such natural compounds are of general interest with respect to human health (e.g. skin protection) or as food ingredients.

The project will be conducted by D. Remias and his master students in collaboration with research partners in Prague, Potsdam and Innsbruck.

 

Research program

FWF Translational Research


Das Projekt wird im Translational Research Programm durch den FWF Wissenschaftsfonds gefördert.

2018
D. Remias, L. Procházková, L. Nedbalová, C. Nicoletti, J. Raymond - Kremastochrysis sp. DR75b (Chrysophyceae) isolated from alpine snow: physiological and biochemical characterization - 17th Scientific Conference of the Phycology Section (DBG), Berchtesgaden, Germany, 2018, pp. 74 more
2018
L. Procházková, D. Remias, A. Holzinger, T. Řezanka, L. Nedbalová - Ecophysiological and morphological comparison of two populations of Chlainomonas sp. (Chlorophyta) causing red snow on ice-covered lakes in the High Tatras and Austrian Alps - EUROPEAN JOURNAL OF PHYCOLOGY, Vol. 53, No. 2, 2018,… more
2017
M. Stibal, J. Box, K. Cameron, P. Langen, M. Yallop, R. Mottram, A. Kahn, N. Molotch, N. Chrismas, F. Quaglia, D. Remias, C. Smeets, M. van den Broeke, J. Ryan, A. Hubbart, M. Tranter, D. van As, A. Ahlström - Algae Drive Enhanced Darkening of Bare Ice on the Greenland Ice Sheet - GEOPHYSICAL RESEARCH… more
2017
L. Procházková, D. Remias, T. Řezanka, L. Nedbalová - Chloromonas nivalis subsp. tatrae, subsp. nov. (Chlamydomonadales, Chlorophyta): re-examination of a snow alga from the High Tatra Mountains (Slovakia) - Fottea, Vol. 18, No. 1, 2017, pp. 1-18 more
2017
B. Tartarotti, F. Trattner, D. Remias, N. Saul, C. Steinberg, R. Sommaruga - Distribution and UV protection strategies of zooplankton in clear and glacier-fed alpine lakes - Scientific Reports, Vol. 7, No. 4487, 2017, pp. 14 more
2013
D. Remias, S. Jost, J. Boenigk, H. Wastian, C. Lütz - Hydrurus-related golden algae (Chrysophyceae) cause yellow snow in polar summer snowfields - Phycological Research, 2013, pp. 277-285 more

Projekt

Metabolomik und Biodiversität von Schnee- und Eisalgen

Beschreibung:


Mikroalgen, die in Schneefeldern und auf Gletscheroberflächen leben sind extremophile Organismen, die in einem der härtesten Ökosysteme wachsen die es für photosynthetische Zellen gibt. Sie müssen sich an hohe Strahlungswerte, tiefe Temperaturen sowie eingeschränkte Nährstoff- und Wasserverfügbarkeit anpassen. Ab dem Spätfrühling verursachen Blüten auffällige alpine und polare Schneefärbungen in Abhängigkeit der vorherrschenden Pigmente, wobei roter Schnee das häufigste Phänomen darstellt. Durch Reduktion der Reflektion beschleunigt die Kryoflora die Schmelzrate ihres Lebensraumes, was wiederum in großem Maßstab einen Anstieg des Meeresspiegels begünstigt. Die Klimaerwärmung gefährdet Populationen in niederen Gebirgen aufgrund mangelnden Schneefalls. Die Erforschung von Schnee- und Eisalgen erfolgt nicht nur zum Verständnis von Lebensabläufen unter Extrembedingungen, sondern auch aufgrund in hoher Konzentration vorkommender, kommerziell verwertbarer Inhaltsstoffe. Verbindungen wie mehrfach ungesättigte Fettsäuren, Pigmente, Polyphenole, Antioxidantien oder Zucker-Alkohole spielen eine wichtige Rolle für das Überleben. Generell sind die biochemischen Strategien dieser Algen immer noch schlecht untersucht. Zudem ist die Wissenslage über die geografische Verteilung beschränkt, und die wahre Biodiversität ist unklar.

Dieses Projekt hat zwei Fragestellungen. Erstens wollen wir geografische Unterschiede in der Biodiversität arktischer und alpiner Lebensgemeinschaften verstehen. Unter Anwendung von „high throughput" Sequenzierungen mit Feldproben wird die Struktur der natürlichen Schneegesellschaft erstmals in einem alpin-polaren Vergleich untersucht. Die molekularen Ergebnisse werden zudem mit den physikalisch-chemischen Schneeparametern korreliert. Zweitens wollen wir verstehen, wie sich das Metabolom von Schnee- und Eisalgen in Bezug auf Umweltstress ändert: Populationen in alpinen Schnee werden vor und nach deren Umwandlung von grünen Flagellaten unterhalb der Oberfläche zu exponierten roten Sporen verglichen. Zusätzlich wollen wir die Strategie von Eisalgen aufklären, welche auf alpinen und polaren Gletscheroberflächen vorkommen. Diese abgeleiteten Grünalgen, welche verwandtschaftlich den Landpflanzen näher stehen, teilen sich während der ganzen Saison und bleiben somit im Gegensatz zu den meist sporenbildenden Schneealgen stets vegetativ.

Alle Messungen werden sowohl mit Feldmaterial als auch mit Laborkulturen unter kontrollierten Bedingungen durchgeführt. Die metabolomischen Methoden inkludieren Gaschormotographie und Massenspektrometrie, um die durch Inhaltsstoffe etablierten Strategien aufzuklären. Dazu gehört auch die Suche und Charakterisierung neuer „Anti-Stress" Metaboliten wie Osmolyte, Schutzpigmente oder Antioxidantien. Diese natürlichen Verbindungen sind von generellem Interesse, etwa in Bezug auf Gesundheit (z.B. für Hautschutz) oder als Nahrungsergänzung.

logo
4/2017 - 9/2020

Leitung:

Personen:

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

Forschungseinheiten:

Kooperationen:

  • Charles University in Prague
  • Universität Innsbruck

Forschungsprogramm:

FWF Translational Research

Das Projekt wird im Translational Research Programm durch den FWF Wissenschaftsfonds gefördert.