Project

LOISI: Logistics Optiminzation in Streel Industries

Project

Oct 2016 - Mar 2019

Background / Problem

To keep the production of semi-finished steel products in Europe, companies are specializing in high quality products and adaptive processes to flexibly respond to customer requests. Higher quality brings more stringent process requirements for processing, transport and storage of semi-finished products. The physical processes in steel manufacturing imply that higher quality brings disproportionately greater volatility in production due to dynamic process changes for rectification, storage places where sensible cooling processes are taking place, etc. The warehouse and transport logistic processes connect production with customer demands. In this context, the internal logistics becomes competitively crucial factor for resilient (robust, flexible, adaptive) production.

Objectives / Methods

The overall goal is to explore a decision support information system supporting resilient transport and storage processes for the steel industry producing high quality semi-finished steel products.
In LOISI first a Performance Measurement System (PMS) for resilience in the production of semi-finished steel products and the measurement of required performance indicators will be researched.
This PSM is used for the evaluation of strategies of transport and warehouse logistics. Due to the high dynamics of the processes and the complexity of the relationships between production, transportation, storage, decision makers need support in the identification and selection of optimal strategies for a given workload. Simulation models are necessary to solve problems with this dynamics and complexity for making logistics strategies comparable. By using metaheuristic optimisation methods, strategies can be optimized for resilience.
The integration of these methods will be evaluated for their usefulness in a realistic scenario. As an example for the evaluation and iterative improvement of the developed procedures and methods, the production of semi-finished steel project partner VASD envisioned for 2021 will be used.

Results / Findings

Resilience is formalized for internal logistic systems. Strategies for warehouse and transport logistics optimized for the production of semi-finished steel products. The high complexity and dynamics are addressed by simulation models, which form the basis supporting decision-makers. The models are designed to integratively and effectively provide decision support to. The approach, models and optimisation algorithms are evaluated in a realistic future scenario of VASD in 2021.


Research program

Innovative Upper Austria 2020


Dieses Projekt wurde aus Mitteln des Strategischen Wirtschafts- und Forschungsprogrammes „Innovatives OÖ 2020“ vom Land OÖ gefördert.
2018
E. Steiner, G. Weichhart, A. Beham - Information Systems for Steel Production: The Importance of Resilience - On The Move to Meaningful Internet Systems: OTM 2018 Workshops (Lecture Notes in Computer Science, LNCS 11231), Valletta, Malta, 2018, pp. 45-54 more
2018
V. A. Hauder, A. Beham, S. Raggl, M. Affenzeller - Resource constrained project scheduling: a real-world extension for steel industry - Proceedings of the 30th European Modeling and Simulation Symposium EMSS2018, Budapest, Hungary, Hungary, 2018 more
2017
V. A. Hauder, A. Beham, S. Wagner, M. Affenzeller - Optimization Networks for Real-World Production and Logistics Problems - GECCO '17: Proceedings of the Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference Companion, Berlin, Germany, Germany, 2017, pp. 4 more

Projekt

LOISI: Logistics Optiminzation in Streel Industries

Beschreibung:

Ausgangssituation / Problematik

Um die Produktion von Stahlhalbfabrikaten in Europa zu halten, spezialisieren sich Unternehmen auf qualitativ hochwertige Produkte und adaptive Prozesse um flexibel auf Kundenwünsche eingehen zu können. Höhere Qualität bringt strengere Prozessvorschriften für die Bearbeitung, den Transport und die Lagerung von Halbfabrikaten. Durch die physikalischen Prozesse bringt eine höhere bringt überproportional höhere Volatilität in der Produktion, unter anderem durch dynamische Prozessänderungen zur Nachbesserung, Lagerplätze an denen sensible Abkühlprozesse laufen, etc. Die Lager- und Transportlogistik verbindet die Produktion mit Kundenwünsche. In diesem Kontext wird die innerbetriebliche Logistik zum wettbewerbsbestimmenden Faktor um resiliente (robuste, flexible, adaptive) Produktion zu ermöglichen.

Ziele / Methoden

Ziel ist es ein entscheidungsunterstützendes Informationssystem für die stahlverarbeitende Industrie zu erforschen, dass resiliente Intralogistik- und Lagerstrategien für die Bereitstellung von Stahlvorprodukten (Stahlhalbfabrikate) ermöglicht.
In LOISI wird in einem ersten Schritt festgemacht, was ein Performance Measurement System (PMS) für Resilienz in der Produktion von Stahlhalbfabrikaten leisten muss und welche Indikatoren zu beachten sind. Dieses PSM dient zur Evaluierung von Strategien der Transport- und Lagerlogistik. Durch die hohe Dynamik der Prozesse und die Komplexität der Abhängigkeiten zwischen Produktion, Transport, Lager, brauchen Entscheider Unterstützung um optimale Strategien bei gegebener Auslastung zu finden. Simulationsmodelle sind notwendig um Probleme dieser Dynamik und Komplexität abzubilden und Strategien vergleichbar zu machen. Durch die Nutzung von Metaheuristiken können Strategien mittels unterschiedlichster Algorithmen auf resilienz optimiert werden.
Die Integration dieser Methoden wird auf ihre Brauchbarkeit in einem realistischen Szenario evaluiert. Als Anwendungsbeispiel für die Evaluierung und iterative Verbesserung der entwickelten Verfahren und Methoden dient die Produktion von Stahlhalbfabrikaten des Projektpartners VASD im Jahr 2021.

Ergebnisse / Erkenntnisse

Resilienz wird für die innerbetriebliche Logistik formalisiert. Strategien der Lager und Transport Logistik werden für die Produktion von Stahlhalbfabrikaten optimiert. Der hohen Komplexität und Dynamik wird mit Simulationsmodellen begegnet, die die Basis bilden um Entscheidungsträger zu unterstützen. Die Modelle und Algorithmen werden integrativ entwickelt um effektive Entscheidungsunterstützung zu bieten. Evaluiert wird der Modellierungs- und Optimierungsansatz in einem Zukunftsszenario der VASD 2021.

logo
2016-10-01 - 2019-03-31

Leitung:

Personen:

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

Forschungseinheiten:

Kooperationen:

Forschungsprogramm:

Innovatives Oberösterreich 2020
Dieses Projekt wurde aus Mitteln des Strategischen Wirtschafts- und Forschungsprogrammes „Innovatives OÖ 2020“ vom Land OÖ gefördert.

Publikationen: