Project

Thrombotherm

Project

Oct 2015 - Sep 2017
Transfusion of platelets is used either prophylactic to reduce the risk of clinical threatening bleedings or therapeutic to treat acute life-threatening thrombocytopathic-relevant bleedings (e.g. thrombocytopenic traumatic injuries, hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, chemotherapy). Activation and enhancement of platelet reactivity is the key step during hemostasis. After the first activation at the point of blood vessel trauma the platelets then aggregate and form a stable thrombus. This process is irreversible; the platelets are removed by macrophages during the subsequent following tissue regeneration.
In general, platelet concentrates are stored at +22°C ± 2° C in gas-permeable, sterile plastic bags; the maximum shelf life is 5 days. Anticoagulants (Heparin, Citrate) are used to prevent activation and aggregation of platelets before transfusion. Lethal sepsis in the course of platelet transfusion due to bacterial contamination can occur especially when using stored platelets at the end of their shelf life.

Aim of this project is to extend the shelf life of platelet concentrates and to characterize their actual state via real-time analysis. Utilizing high-resolution microscopy techniques on different biochemical surfaces allows monitoring activation-induced changes from the cellular - down to the molecular - level. Physico-chemical parameters during storage will be characterized. Moreover, the project is aimed to classify the interaction reactivity of (transfused) platelets following storage with the cells of the individual receiver. 

Research program

Innovative Upper Austria 2020


Dieses Projekt wurde aus Mitteln des Strategischen Wirtschafts- und Forschungsprogrammes „Innovatives OÖ 2020“ vom Land OÖ gefördert.
2018
S. Mayr, F. Hauser, A. Peterbauer, A. Tauscher, C. Naderer, M. Axmann, B. Plochberger, J. Jacak - Localization Microscopy of Actin Cytoskeleton in Human Platelets - International Journal of Molecular Sciences, Vol. 19, No. 1150, 2018 more
2017
B. Plochberger, M. Brodesser, F. Hauser, J. Breuss, C. Gabriel, J. Jacak, S. M. Winkler, D. M. Borgmann, A. Hangler, M. Aspetsberger, L. Bindreiter - A Fast and Reliable Online-System for Platelet Viability Studies - BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL, Vol. 112, No. 3, 2017 more
2017
S. Mayr, M. Brodesser, F. Hauser, J. Breuss, M. Aspetsberger, D. M. Borgmann, S. M. Winkler, C. Gabriel, E. Priglinger, J. Jacak, B. Plochberger - A FAST AND RELIABLE ONLINE-SYSTEM FOR PLATELET VIABILITY STUDIES - Proceedings of the 61st Annual Biophysical Meeting, New Orleans, United States of America,… more
2017
B. Plochberger, M. Brodesser, F. Hauser, M. Axmann, J. Jacak, S. M. Winkler, L. Bindreiter, M. Aspetsberger - A Fast and Reliable Online-System for Platelet Viability Studies - ÖGMBT Meeting 2017, Innsbruck - CCB, Austria, 2017 more
2017
Y. Oh, B. Plochberger, P. Hinterdorfer - Characterizing the effect of polymyxin B antibiotics to lipopolysaccharide on Escherichia coli surface using atomic force microscopy - JOURNAL OF MOLECULAR RECOGNITION, Vol. 30, No. 6, 2017 more
2017
B. Plochberger, M. Axmann, J. Preiner, M. Brodesser, H. Stangl, C. Röhrl - Direct visualization of LDL-mediated cholesterol transport at the phospholipid bilayer interface - Austrian Atherosclerosis Society, 2017 more

Projekt

Thrombotherm - Temperaturabhängige Thrombozyten-Aktivierung in Plasmakonzentraten

Beschreibung:

Die Transfusion von Thrombozyten wird prophylaktisch zur Verringerung des Risikos von klinisch bedrohliche Blutungen wie auch therapeutisch zur Behandlung einer aktiven, bedrohlichen Thrombozytopathie-bedingten Blutung (z.B. bei thrombozytopenischen Traumapatienten, hämatopoetischen Stammzelltransplantationen oder nach Chemotherapien) eingesetzt. Aktivierung und Steigerung der Thrombozytenreaktivität spielen bei der thrombozytär vermittelten Blutstillung eine zentrale Rolle. Nach primärer Aktivierung der Thrombozyten am Ort der Gefäßschädigung erfolgen die anschließende Aggregation sowie die Bildung eines stabilen Thrombus. Dieser Prozess ist gänzlich irreversibel; im Zuge der darauf folgenden Geweberegeneration werden die Thrombozyten anschließend von Makrophagen abgebaut.
Generell werden Thrombozyten in gasdurchlässigen, sterilen Kunststoffbeuteln bei +22° C ± 2° C gelagert; die maximale Haltbarkeit beträgt hierbei 5 Tage. Das pharmakologische Management zielt dementsprechend darauf ab, mithilfe von Antikoagulantien (Heparin, Zitrat) sowohl die Aktivierung als auch die Aggregation in Thrombozytenkonzentraten (TK) zu verhindern, um folglich dem Patienten funktionstüchtige, also nicht aktivierte Thrombozyten zu verabreichen. Tödlich verlaufende transfusionsbedingte Blutvergiftungen durch bakterielle Kontamination wurden insbesondere beim Einsatz von Thrombozytenkonzentraten am Ende deren Haltbarkeitsfrist beobachtet.

Ziel dieses Projektes ist es die Haltbarkeit der Konserven zu verlängern, sowie den aktuellen Thrombozyten-Zustand mithilfe einer „Real-Time“ Analyse zu bestimmen. Hochauflösende Mikroskopie-Techniken werden eingesetzt um auf verschiedenen biochemischen Oberflächen zelluläre Veränderungen auf Makro- wie auch auf Nanoebene im Zuge der fortschreitenden Aktivierungskaskaden zu verfolgen. Die chemo-physikalischen Einflussgrößen während der Lagerung können somit charakterisiert werden. Darüber hinaus zielt dieses Projektes daraufhin ab die Interaktionsfähigkeit von transfundierten Thrombozyten mit den Zellen des Empfängers zu klassifizieren und ermöglicht damit die individuelle Haltbarkeit genau festzulegen.

logo
10/2015 - 9/2017

Leitung:

Personen:

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

Forschungseinheiten:

Forschungsprogramm:

Innovatives Oberösterreich 2020
Dieses Projekt wurde aus Mitteln des Strategischen Wirtschafts- und Forschungsprogrammes „Innovatives OÖ 2020“ vom Land OÖ gefördert.