Research unit

Research Center Wels

Abstract:

At the Research Center of the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria – Wels Campus research and development activities are mainly directed towards engineering and environmental Sciences. In 5 research areas and an interdisciplinary topic professors and research associates develop in accordance with the action areas of "Innovative Upper Austria 2020" application-oriented methods and techniques for our partners. Cross-linking to (inter-)national companies and research institutions is of particular importance.

 

Automatisation & Simulation

This research priority aims at the development of automation solutions for complex key technologies. In detail, research is focused at the areas of railway automatisation, multi physical simulations, parameter identification of mechatronic systems, multi body dynamics as well as model based design + embedded control.

 

Measuring & Testing Technology

The focus of this research priority aims lies in non-destructive testing (NDT) of materials and components. The NDT methods of 3D X-ray computed tomography (CT) and of active thermography occupy a central position within this research priority.

 

Materials & Production Engineering

Materials & Production Engineering is focused on optimized and material-specific processing of materials. Improving the properties of tool steels and steels for state of the art light weight construction forms the core of R & D activities within the area of metals. With regard to the plastics processing, especially extrusion technology and thermoforming are in our focus. Further R & D priorities are centered around surface engineering, composites, and metal forming & additive manufacturing.

 

Energy & Environment

In the area of energy and environment researchers not only focus on electric power engineering and the topic of smart grids also on bioenergy topics such as the development of production processes for biofuels as well as biogas. Furthermore, our R & D combines topics on eco-energy and environmental technology in the areas of research energy-efficient buildings, emission and waste reduction. For all projects, the ethical use of resources in the world is in the foreground.

 

Food Technology & Nutrition

In food technology, research on of plant constituents as well as their mode of action at the molecular level is the main objective, which is also reflected in the corresponding R & D priorities: Functional food, plant feedstock characterisation, as well as clinical studies. Our findings, of how these ingredients interfere with the human metabolism and how they control it, are available for the development of functional foods.

 

Interdisciplinary Topic: Innovation &Technology Management

This interdisciplinary R & D focus is dedicated to the development and application of methods and tools to improve the performance of the early stages of innovation. The activities in the "Front End of Innovation" have a central leverage effect on the success of an innovation project. At the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria – Wels Campus the research and transfer center sprint> (Systematic Product Innovation Transfer Center) stays available for this purpose.

Publications:

Projects:

Patents:

Forschungseinheit

Research Center Wels

Beschreibung:

Am Research Center der FH Oberösterreich Campus Wels stehen Forschung & Entwicklung im Zeichen von Technik und Umweltwissenschaften. In 5 Forschungsschwerpunkten und einem interdisziplinären Thema entwickeln ProfessorInnen und wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen in Anlehnung an die Aktionsfelder „Innovatives Oberösterreich 2020“ applikationsorientierte Methoden und Technologien für unsere Partner. Die Vernetzung mit (inter-)nationalen Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen ist dabei von besonderer Bedeutung.

 

Automatisierungstechnik und Simulationen

Dieser Schwerpunkt zielt auf die Entwicklung von Automatisierungslösungen für komplexe Schlüsseltechnologien ab. So wird hierbei an Themenstellungen aus den Bereichen Bahnautomatisierung, multiphysikalischer Simulationen, Parameteridentifikation mechatronischer Systeme, Mehrkörperdynamik sowie Model Based Design + Embedded Control geforscht.

 

Mess- und Prüftechnik

Der Fokus des F&E-Schwerpunkts Mess- und Prüftechnik liegt in der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung (ZfP) von Werkstoffen und Bauteilen. Dabei nehmen die ZfP-Verfahren der 3D-Röntgencomputertomografie und der aktiven Thermografie eine zentrale Stellung ein.

 

Werkstoff- und Produktionstechnik

Im Zentrum dieses Schwerpunktes steht die optimierte und materialspezifische Verarbeitung von Werkstoffen. Die Verbesserung der Eigenschaften von Werkzeugstählen und modernen Stählen für den Leichtbau bildet den Kern der F&E-Tätigkeit bei Metallen. Hinsichtlich der Kunststoffverarbeitung stehen vor allem Extrusionstechnik und Thermoformen im Mittelpunkt. Weitere wesentliche Themen stellen aber auch Oberflächentechnik, Composites, sowie Umformtechnik & generative Fertigung dar.

 

Energie und Umwelt

Im Bereich Energie und Umwelt beschäftigen sich ForscherInnen neben elektrischer Energietechnik und dem Thema Smart-Grids auch mit Bioenergiethemen wie z.B. der Entwicklung von Produktionsprozessen von Biotreibstoffen & Biogas. Des weiteren umfasst dieser Schwerpunkt die Kombination von Ökoenergie- und Umwelttechnikthemen in den Forschungsfeldern energieeffiziente Gebäude, Abgasreinigung und Abfallreduzierung. Bei allen Projekten steht der ethisch einwandfreie Umgang mit den Ressourcen der Welt im Vordergrund.

 

Lebensmitteltechnologie und Ernährung

In der Lebensmitteltechnologie ist die Erforschung von Pflanzeninhaltsstoffen und ihre Wirkungsweise auf molekularer Ebene die Hauptzielrichtung, die sich auch in den F&E-Schwerpunkten widerspiegelt: Funktionelle Lebensmittel, Charakterisierung pflanzlicher Rohstoffe, sowie klinische Studien. Die Erkenntnisse, wie diese Inhaltsstoffe in den menschlichen Stoffwechsel eingreifen und ihn steuern, stehen für die Entwicklung von funktionellen Lebensmitteln parat.

 

Interdisziplinäres Thema: Innovations- und Technologiemanagement

Dieser interdisziplinäre F&E-Schwerpunkt widmet sich der Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung von Methoden und Tools zur Performancesteigerung der frühen Innovationsphasen. Die Aktivitäten im sogenannten „Front End of Innovation" besitzen eine zentrale Hebelwirkung auf den Erfolg eines Innovationsprojektes. Am FH OÖ Campus Wels steht dafür das Forschungs- und Transferzentrum sprint> (Systematic Product Innovation Transfercenter) zur Verfügung.

Publikationen:

Projekte:

Patente: