Research unit

Research Center Hagenberg

Abstract:

Pioneering IT research in Hagenberg

Research and development at the FH Upper Austria Campus Hagenberg is dominated by computer science, communication and the media. 12 research groups (RG) are working on innovative solutions for the digital future in three major areas:

Information and Communication Systems

Media and Knowledge Technologies

Software Technology and Applications

The Research Groups are firmly anchored in national and international networks of universities, research institutions and companies. In this culture medium on the one hand centers of excellence as a comprehensive point of contact for companies, and on the other hand consortia for large EU projects develop successfully. This benefits not only the local economy but also the students who are directly involved in the research activities. In addition, the expansion of Hagenberg to a center for applied IT-research is promoted.

Interdisciplinary research and Collaborations

The advancing digitalization is changing society and industry. The research groups at FH Upper Austria Campus Hagenberg provide a wealth of creative approaches in the field of computer science in order to master the upcoming challenges and to develop inter- and transdisciplinary solutions together with other fields of science.

Through joint, cross-faculty efforts, three initial FFG Cooperation & Innovation projects were launched in 2016. The aim of the project USIVIS - "User Centered Interactive Visualization of Big Data" is a fundamental improvement of the decision support by designing new visualization and operating concepts for "Big Data", in the project HCW4i - "Human-Centered Workplace 4 Industry" universal methods and systems for the digital assistance of production staff at the workplace are designed, and the "Center for Applied Smart Grid Systems" develops realistic simulation environments for testing new energy systems.

In 2016 the new, cross-faculty TIMed Center - "Research Center for Technologocal Innovation in Medicine" was established, in order to bundle the existing strengths of FH OÖ faculties in Hagenberg, Linz, Wels and Steyr for the development of interdisciplinary solutions for technical questions in life sciences (medicine, bio-medicine, biology, biochemistry, molecular biology, biophysics and bioinformatics). Together with the faculties of Steyr and Wels, Hagenberg is also running the Institute for Smart Production to enable interdisciplinary research in the area of ​​industry 4.0.

International co-operations were also strengthened in 2016. For example, new microelectronic components for high-frequency applications are being developed in an FWF Joint Project with RWTH Aachen University. In cooperation with the JKU, the Faculty of Hagenberg offers the Joint International PhD Program in Informatics. Co-financed by the Upper Austrian government, four scholarships were awarded to international candidates with a master′s degree in computer science to promote the braingain to Upper Austria.

Publications:

Projects:

Patents:

Forschungseinheit

Research Center Hagenberg

Beschreibung:

Zukunftsweisende IT-Forschung in Hagenberg

Forschung & Entwicklung steht am FH OÖ Campus Hagenberg ganz im Zeichen von Informatik, Kommunikation und Medien. 12 Research Groups (RG) arbeiten in 3 großen Themenschwerpunkten an innovativen Lösungen für die digitale Zukunft:

Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme

Medien- und Wissenstechnologien

Software Technologie und Anwendungen

Die Research Groups sind fest in nationalen und internationalen Netzwerken von Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen verankert. Auf diesem Nährboden entwickeln sich einerseits erfolgreich Exzellenzzentren, als umfassende Ansprechpartner für Firmen, und andererseits auch Konsortien für große EU-Projekte. Davon profitiert nicht nur die heimische Wirtschaft, sondern auch die Studierenden, die direkt in die Forschungsaktivitäten eingebunden werden. Darüber hinaus wird so der Ausbau Hagenbergs zum Zentrum für angewandte IT-Forschung gefördert.

Interdisziplinäre Forschung und Kooperationen

Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung verändert Gesellschaft und Industrie. Die Forschungsgruppen der FH OÖ Fakultät Hagenberg liefert eine Fülle kreativer Ansätze aus dem Bereich der Computerwissenschaften, um die anstehenden Herausforderungen zu meistern und gemeinsam mit anderen Wissenschaftsgebieten inter- und transdisziplinäre Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Durch gemeinsame, fakultätsübergreifende Bestrebungen konnten im Jahr 2016 drei FFG COIN-Aufbauprojekte gestartet werden. Ziel des Projekts USIVIS – „User Centered Interactive Visualization of Big Data“ ist eine fundamentale Verbesserung der Entscheidungsunterstützung durch die Gestaltung neuartiger Visualisierungs- und Bedienkonzepte für „Big Data“, im Projekt HCW4i – „Human-Centered Workplace 4 Industry“ werden universelle Methoden und Systeme zur digitalen Assistenz von ProduktionsmitarbeiterInnen am Arbeitsplatz entworfen und im „Center for Applied Smart Grid Systems“ werden realitätsnahe Simulationsumgebungen zum Test von neuen Energiesystemen entwickelt.

2016 wurde mit dem TIMed Center ein neues, fakultätsübergreifendes Zentrum für technische Innovation in der Medizin gegründet, um die bestehenden Stärken der FH OÖ Fakultäten in Hagenberg, Linz, Wels und Steyr zur Entwicklung interdisziplinärer Lösungen für technische Fragestellungen aus den Lebenswissenschaften (Medizin, Biomedizin, Biologie, Biochemie, Molekularbiologie, Biophysik und Bioinformatik) zu bündeln. Hagenberg gestaltet überdies gemeinsam mit den Fakultäten Steyr und Wels das Institut für Intelligente Produktion, um interdisziplinäre Forschung im Themengebiet Industrie 4.0 zu ermöglichen.

Auch internationale Kooperationen konnten 2016 verstärkt werden. Beispielsweise werden in einem FWF Joint Project mit der RWTH Aachen neuartige Mikroelektronik-Bauelemente für Hochfrequenzanwendungen entwickelt. In Kooperation mit der JKU wird seitens der Fakultät Hagenberg das Joint International PhD Program in Informatics angeboten. Co-finanziert durch das Land OÖ wurden vier Stipendien für internationale Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten mit einem Masterabschluss in Computerwissenschaften vergeben, um den Braingain nach OÖ zu fördern.

Publikationen:

Projekte:

Patente: