Research unit

Research Group Thermography & Non Destructive Testing

Abstract:

Our Research Group of Thermography & NDT was founded 2006 at the University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria. We are dealing with emerging technologies in Non-Destructive Testing, which are recently in a process of development and optimization for industrial applications. The main research topics in our group are:

  • Active and Passive Thermography
  • Digital Shearography
  • Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy

In adition to these experimental methods we are engaged in analytical modelling (Green’s functions, Integral Transforms) and numerical simulations (Finite-Difference-, Finite-Element Methods) in order to improve the defect identification algorithms by taking the physical reality into account. In the course of the research activities 10 journal papers, 55 papers in conference proceedings, 1 PhD thesis and 10 master thesis have been published.

We see our activities at the interface between science and industrial applications. The main pillar of our research is the systematic improvement and development of these methods as well as the increase of their application range. In addition we are open for short-term feasibility studies on request at any time.

Publications:

Projects:

Forschungseinheit

Research Group Thermography & Non Destructive Testing

Beschreibung:

Unsere Forschungsgruppe Thermografie & NDT wurde 2006 an der Fachhochschule Oberösterreich gegründet. Wir beschäftigen uns mit neuen Technologien im Bereich der zerstörungsfreien Prüfung, die sich in letzter Zeit in einem Prozess der Entwicklung und Optimierung für industrielle Anwendungen befinden. Die wichtigsten Forschungsthemen in unserer Gruppe sind:

  • Aktive und passive Thermographie
  • Digitale Shearographie
  • Infrarot- und Raman-Spektroskopie

Zusätzlich zu diesen experimentellen Methoden beschäftigen wir uns mit analytischen Modellen (Green′sche Funktionen, Integral Transformationen) und numerischen Simulationen (Finite-Differenz-, Finite-Elemente Methoden), um die Fehleridentifikationsalgorithmen unter Berücksichtigung der Realität zu verbessern. Im Rahmen der Forschungsaktivitäten wurden 10 Zeitschriftenbeiträge, 55 Vorträge in Tagungsbänden, 1 Dissertation und 10 Masterarbeiten veröffentlicht.

Wir sehen unsere Aktivitäten an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und industriellen Anwendungen. Das Hauptaugenmerk unserer Forschung liegt auf der systematischen Verbesserung und Entwicklung dieser Methoden sowie auf der Erweiterung ihres Anwendungsbereichs. Darüber hinaus sind wir auf Anfrage jederzeit für kurzfristige Machbarkeitsstudien verfügbar.

Publikationen:

Projekte: